Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please take a moment to read the Community guidelines and learn how to use the Community. The personal details and information provided by you will be used by VisitScotland to create your iKnow community account. Any content you provide, such as a profile photo, username, comments and discussions will be publicly available.

By ticking the box and clicking submit you confirm that you have read and agreed to the terms of our privacy policy.

Love Scotland and want to share your stories – why not have a look at all the recent discussions and make a contribution or start a new discussion? Visiting Scotland and looking for some advice – why not ask a question or start a discussion or simply explore all the great content?

Join the conversation today.

Castles reachable by public transport

Hello everyone,

I have been visiting Scotland for over three years now, and since I love historic sites I have tried to visit as many castles/palaces as I possibly can. Sadly, it can be a bit difficult to reach some of them by public transport, so I would love to share what castles everyone has managed to visit by public transport and share my own experiences as well. I have seen a previous thread here with the same idea, but that one is now a bit outdated so I figured an updated thread wouldn't hurt. I have tried to order these sites by naming the city from which I visited this castle, but do take in mind that there are probably multiple ways to reach a certain place. Hopefully this will help some of you out! 

Reachable from Glasgow:
-Linlithgow Palace (train to Linlithgow)
-Dumbarton Castle (train to Dumbarton)
-Newark Castle (train to Port Glasgow)
-Bothwell Castle (bus from the city of Glasgow)
-Cadzow Castle (train to Chatherault)

Reachable from Edinburgh:
-Edinburgh Castle (train to Edinburgh)

Reachable from Aberdeen:
-New Slains Castle (bus from Old Aberdeen)