Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please take a moment to read the Community guidelines and learn how to use the Community.

Love Scotland and want to share your stories – why not have a look at all the recent discussions and make a contribution or start a new discussion? Visiting Scotland and looking for some advice – why not ask a question or start a discussion or simply explore all the great content?

Join the conversation today and share your #scotspirit.

First Trip North!

My husband and I want to visit Scotland in August.  My husband wants to sample peaty Scotch; as an artist I want to check out the local art. Any suggestions on where to start? Thanks!

Comments

• VisitScotlandLiamVisitScotlandLiam Member, Administrator, Moderator, VisitScotland Staff
    Hey @aelstone, if it's art you're after, Edinburgh and Glasgow both have brilliant galleries!  @Horizons, can you advise on great places for whisky?
    Lead vocalist & rhythm guitarist for The Bright SkiesTwitter, Facebook, SoundCloud, YouTube.
  • ArtravelistArtravelist Member ✭✭
    Hi @aelstone

If you can get a hold of the ArtMag, it is a great way of finding out about exhibitions around Scotland - especially if you are touring around. It has details of the latest exhibitions as well as local contemporary artists. You can find this mag in lots of venues - museums, cafes, galleries, bars. 

Find out about what's on this year at the National Galleries of Scotland in Edinburgh at https://www.nationalgalleries.org/exhibitions/upcoming

If you are still around mid-September, you can catch the long-anticipated opening of the V&A in Dundee. 

The Art Festival runs for most of August in Edinburgh (as do many of the other Edinburgh festivals).

Be an artravelist with me at artravelist.com
  • HorizonsHorizons Member, VisitScotland Ambassador ✭✭✭✭