Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please take a moment to read the Community guidelines and learn how to use the Community. The personal details and information provided by you will be used by VisitScotland to create your iKnow community account. Any content you provide, such as a profile photo, username, comments and discussions will be publicly available.

By ticking the box and clicking submit you confirm that you have read and agreed to the terms of our privacy policy.

Love Scotland and want to share your stories – why not have a look at all the recent discussions and make a contribution or start a new discussion? Visiting Scotland and looking for some advice – why not ask a question or start a discussion or simply explore all the great content?

Join the conversation today and share your #scotspirit.

First trip to Scotland- Please help with Itinerary

Hello there,

I am from Canada and it is my first time on this board and first time visiting Scotland in mid-May. I have 6 days. Help me make it a memorable trip!

I am landing in Gatwick on Friday late at night. From there here is what I plan to do:

Saturday morning early train Gatwick to Edinburgh, visit Edinburgh, stay overnight
Sunday morning early leave Edinburgh by rented car to Inverness
Sunday afternoon arrive in Inverness, visit, stay overnight
Monday morning early leave for Inverness, drive to Skye via Lochness (visit Lochness on the way)  and then visit Skye, stay overnight
Tuesday morning visit Skye and surroundings (is it worth a full day of visiting?)
Wednesday morning early go from Skye to Glencoe via Glenfinnan (visit Glenfinnan viaduct on the way), stay overnight in Glencoe
Thursday morning, visit Glencoe, leave at noon to drive to Edinburgh to catch the train back to Gatwick to go back home.