Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please take a moment to read the Community guidelines and learn how to use the Community.

Love Scotland and want to share your stories – why not have a look at all the recent discussions and make a contribution or start a new discussion? Visiting Scotland and looking for some advice – why not ask a question or start a discussion or simply explore all the great content?

Join the conversation today and share your #scotspirit.

My favourite Scottish Islands

ellisoconnorellisoconnor VisitScotland Ambassador ✭✭
edited October 2016 in Scotland's Islands
Hello all! 

Three years ago I made a pact with myself to try and visit all of the Scottish Islands and explore as much of this country as I possibly could. As I am a visual artist and photographer whose work is directly influenced by the more remote areas of Scotland and the stunning mountain ranges we have it wasn't going to be much of a hard challenge for me to start exploring! 

And so to date I've nearly reached my goal!

I'm a massive fan of the wonderful and varied Islands we have here in Scotland and so I'm going to share with you my personal top 5 for my first discussion post. 

1: Isle of Eigg: One of Scotland's small Isles that lies off the West Coast near Mallaig and looks over to the Isle of Skye. A lot less documented but so wild and a very special place because of the people (the community famously bought out the Island in 1997) and the rich culture, heritage and amazing unspoilt hiking to the Sgurr, Laig Beach, Grulin, Kildonans Cave and many more! 

2: Isle of Colonsay: A jewel in the ocean. The Isle of Colonsay is one of Scotland's Inner Hebrides located north of Islay and South of Mull. Famous for it's beaches and incredible unspoilt rich landscapes. Must see's are Kiloran Bay, the long but worthwhile hike to Balnahard Bay at the North of the Island, the rich geology, wildlife and so much more!