Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please take a moment to read the Community guidelines and learn how to use the Community.

Love Scotland and want to share your stories – why not have a look at all the recent discussions and make a contribution or start a new discussion? Visiting Scotland and looking for some advice – why not ask a question or start a discussion or simply explore all the great content?

Join the conversation today and share your #scotspirit.

Motorhome Newbies

Hi Everyone. We have hired a mid size Motorhome for 2 weeks in the Summer and would like to travel the west coast and highlands / Islands before heading back down the East coast to Northumberland. We are total novices to all of this so any advice or tips would be much appreciated. Thank You.

Comments

• WaterboatmanWaterboatman Member
    Oh dear, not much help, is it? We're coming to Scotland in June for a month in our motorhome and, like you, looking for advice. In particular where one can stay overnight free. Being a motorhome, there's no need for any facilities. If anyone can offer any gems, they'd be welcome.
  • Johnny5Johnny5 Member ✭✭
    If I`m honest I rarely plan our journeys in the Highlands .. I just pick a road and drive it! You won`t go wrong for scenery and campsites where ever you go on the West Coast but one vital tip, if you see a garage fill your tank up. In some parts you won`t see a garage for many, many miles. Gas cylinders can be pricey in parts so best to take a decent supply with you. Most of all .. enjoy your holiday!
  • Johnny5Johnny5 Member ✭✭
    Staying somewhere for free is simple .. there are many places where you can pull up on the side of the road, we do this often but I do prefer to find somewhere that maybe one or two other vans are parked up. Much of the Highlands are so remote but it`s just peace of mind that there`s someone else close by. Wild camping is excellent, try it!