Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please take a moment to read the Community guidelines and learn how to use the Community.

Love Scotland and want to share your stories – why not have a look at all the recent discussions and make a contribution or start a new discussion? Visiting Scotland and looking for some advice – why not ask a question or start a discussion or simply explore all the great content?

Join the conversation today and share your #scotspirit.

Newby thinking about moving to Scotland

My husband and I are considering moving to Scotland sometime this year and are looking for any help we can get in making the right decisions in this regard.  We are both retired - I was a golf architect with my own business and I now am an experienced writer and playwright.  I want to write a Historical Fiction Novel about my family (Armstrong) lives during the border wars.  My husband is a retired account executive.  We also are hoping to escape the Trump years.

Comments

• argyllgirlargyllgirl Member ✭✭
    Do one of you have a parent who was born in the UK?  You will need visas.  I understand the need to escape Trump!   

https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/uk-visas-and-immigration
  • HorizonsHorizons Member, VisitScotland Ambassador ✭✭✭✭
    Hey Mary, I too moved from the US 2.5 years back for work after having lived there 5+ years.

A couple of things are in your favour, the USD - GBP exchange rate is extremely favourable and it hasn't been cheaper to live in Scotland while spending USD post-Brexit vote. I also feel Scotland is perfect for retirement (thinking about it in my early 30s :wink:) because there is a strong sense of community outside the big cities that is heartwarming to see. Plus Europe is next door, its just fantastic for traveling.